Enter a valid e-mail address



Lori McKenna Releases New Track From Upcoming Album


  • |
  • May 10, 2018

Lori McKenna, one of the most prolific songwriters of our time, is releasing her eleventh studio album as an artist on July 20 on CN Records via Thirty Tigers. The Tree will be centered around stories of family through its eleven tracks.

McKenna explains the album to Rolling Stone Country and why she chose the theme of familial relationships, “I love people’s stories about their families — the way they tic and the ways we’re all crazy and love each other. I hope my songs shine a little light on that for a second. Maybe our stories remind us of our families and what they give us. It’s beautiful, and sometimes we take it for granted.“

The lead single from the album, “People Get Old," came out yesterday and beautifully introduces the kin-centered theme of the LP. It juggles the inevitability of getting old, all while centering itself on youth. Listen for yourself below:

McKenna told a Nashville crowd that the song is for her father, who inspired the lyrics. Her mom passed away at a young age, so her dad took over to raise she and her five siblings, “I never had a song for my dad and I think it was probably because it’s sort of too close, you know? Like, he’s right there. It’s almost easier to write a song for someone that isn’t with us anymore.” She did, in fact, run the song by her dad, “It’s poetically maybe not what he was expecting."

McKenna also announced a run of headlining shows to support the album throughout the summer. The Way Back Home Tour will kick off on June 29 in Annapolis, MD.

View the full track-listing of the album below. Be sure to pre-order The Tree on all platforms HERE and see if McKenna is coming on tour to a city near you soon.

The Tree Track Listing:

1. “A Mother Never Rests” (Lori McKenna, Barry Dean)
2. “The Fixer” (McKenna)
3. “People Get Old” (McKenna)
4. “Young and Angry Again” (McKenna, Dean, Luke Laird)
5. “The Tree” (McKenna, Natalie Hemby, Aaron Raitiere)
6. “You Won’t Even Know I’m Gone” (McKenna)
7. “Happy People” (McKenna, Hailey Whitters)
8. “You Can’t Break a Woman” (McKenna, Hillary Lindsey, Liz Rose)
9. “The Lot Behind St. Mary’s” (McKenna)
10. The Way Back Home" (McKenna, Laird)
11. “Like Patsy Would” (McKenna, Lindsey, Rose)

You May Also Like...