Enter a valid e-mail address



MegaPick: Anderson East


  • |
  • January 12, 2018

Anderson East's album 'Encore,' is officially out and we can’t get enough!

Anderson East's new album, Encore, is officially out on Elektra Records and we can't get enough of this soulful LP. The honest lyrics combined with his gritty voice convey a message of sincere reflection.

Anderson East's Album Encore

The New York Times aptly describes the reflective nature of the album, “East understands what's at stake when channeling yesteryear. 'Encore,' his second major-label album, is an often lustrous revisiting of raucous Southern soul, rousingly delivered and pinpoint precise. He has a voice full of extremely careful scrape and crunch, but his howls never feel unhinged."

The Alabama-native assembled a star-studded team to create this album, including cowriters Ed Sheeran, Chris Stapleton, Avicii, and Natalie Hemby, alongside producer, Dave Cobb. His all-star band absolutely shines throughout the instrumentation on the album, creating a perfect balance of music and lyrics throughout the whole project.

When talking about the album, East tells Billboard about what is most important to him on the eleven-track creation: “People are going to love or hate it no matter what you do, so I wanted to do something that I could have fun with. That's where the title of the record came from – I wanted every song to [work as] an encore."

Possibly our favorite song on the album is the raw and emotional last song on the album, “Cabinet Door." East sings sadly as an elderly widower about the immense loneliness and grief in losing the love of his life after a lifetime of memories: “We spent fifty two years giving all we had / We raised seven kids on that plot of land / There's still your loose change and your buttons on your washing stand / You left one big house for this lonely man."

East kicked off his Encore World Tour last night in New York City and will continue throughout May, making stops over fifty cities, including shows in Germany, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

Listen to and buy Encore now HERE, and head to AndersonEast.com for information on all tour dates. See the official video for the lead single, “All On My Mind," cowritten by East and Aaron Raitiere, with superstars Ed Sheeran and Snow Patrol's Johnny McDaid, below.

Encore Tracklisting

  1. King For A Day (Anderson East, Chris Stapleton, Morgane Stapleton)
  2. This Too Shall Last (East, Natalie Hemby, Aaron Raitiere)
  3. House Is A Building (East, Hemby, Raitiere)
  4. Sorry You're Sick (Ted Hawkins)
  5. If You Keep Leaving Me (East, Stapleton, Raitiere)
  6. Girlfriend (East, Dave Cobb, Raitiere, Avicii)
  7. Surrender (East, Raitiere, Adam Hood)
  8. All On My Mind (East, Ed Sheeran, Johnny McDaid, Raitiere)
  9. Without You (East, Steve McEwan)
  10. Somebody Pick Up My Pieces (Willie Nelson)
  11. Cabinet Door (East, Jillia Jackson)

You May Also Like...