Enter a valid e-mail address


Embed Gallery

Little Big Town

Little Big Town


Little Big Town (2002)

The Road to Here (2005)

A Place to Land (2007)

The Reason Why (2010)

Tornado (2012)

Pain Killer (2014)

Wanderlust (2016)

The Breaker (2017)


The country foursome Little Big Town first began when Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman (formerly Kimberly Rodes) met in 1987 while both attending Samford University near Birmingham, Alabama. The duo started singing together while in school and eventually moved to Nashville where they brainstormed the unique sound that we would eventually come to know and love. In 1998, Jimi Westbrook, a friend of Fairchild’s husband at the time, joined the duo and a year later, Phillip Sweet’s demo made its way to the trio, who felt his vocals would make the perfect addition to their budding musical group. With Sweet as an official member, they soon formed into Little Big Town.


From the get go, Little Big Town wanted to incorporate harmony and multiple lead vocals into their music, showcasing them as individuals as well as a group. They landed a deal at Mercury Records, but it fell through due to disagreements about musical direction. However, after witnessing the commercial success of country acts such as the Dixie Chicks, Little Big Town soon signed with a new label, Monument Records, in 2000.

Little Big Town’s debut single, "Don't Waste My Time," was finally released in the winter of 2002. The song accompanied their debut album, Little Big Town, which was released in May of that same year. The country group really began making waves, however, when they released their 2005 record, The Road to Here, which yielded four Top 20 singles (including the ballad "Bring It on Home") and earned their first platinum record. The band's profile continued to grow with successful touring and accompanying fellow country stars on their treks, such as Sugarland and Carrie Underwood. Fairchild also collaborated with John Mellencamp on his album Life Death Love and Freedom.

Their 2012 single "Pontoon," topped the Billboard's country chart and Little Big Town’s fifth album, Tornado, followed that September. The record was produced by ex-In Pursuit member Jay Joyce, and reached No 2 on the Billboard 200 All Genre chart. Joyce also worked on their next album, Pain Killer, which was released in October 2014, and produced the hit single "Day Drinking." However, that hit was soon overshadowed by the ballad "Girl Crush," which topped the Hot Country chart and crossed over into the pop Top 20 before winning two Grammy Awards in 2015. Little Big Town capitalized on this crossover by collaborating with Pharrell Williams for their album Wanderlust, released June 2016.

Little Big Town returned in early 2017 with The Breaker, which featured the Taylor Swift-written single "Better Man." Their latest album debuted No. 1 on the Billboard Country Albums chart and Top 5 on the Billboard 200 All Genre chart. Over the past 7 years, the country sensations’ have won over 20 awards, including GRAMMY, CMA, ACM, People's Choice awards, and also an Emmy.

Want More?